Skip to content
Limited human dataNot FDA approved

BPC-157

Also known as: BPC 157 · Body Protection Compound 157 · Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 · PL 14736 · PL-10 · Bepecin · BPC-157 acetate · BPC-157 arginate · Stable BPC

Updated 44 sources

A synthetic 15 amino acid peptide (GEPPPGKPADDAGLV, about 1,419 Da) based on a fragment of a protein in human gastric juice. People run it for tendons, muscles, joints and the gut. The animal data run deep. The human data are three tiny uncontrolled reports, with real trials only now registered. Not approved anywhere.

Quick facts

Half-life
  • Under 30 minutes for the intact peptide in rats and dogs. No human data. The 4-hour figure on many sites has no primary source.
Routes
  • Subcutaneous injection
  • Oral
Forms
  • Vial (powder)
  • Capsule
  • Tablet
Reported dose ranges
  • 100 to 750 mcg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 1.6 to 10 mcg/kg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 250 to 1,000 mcg (oral)
  • 1 to 9 mg (oral)
Vial sizes
  • 5 mg, 10 mg, 20 mg, 30 mg, 40 mg
FDA status
  • Not FDA approved
WADA
  • Prohibited

What people use BPC-157 for

  • Tendon, ligament and muscle injuries: Achilles, elbow, rotator cuff, hamstring
  • Joint and back pain
  • Gut problems such as ulcers, IBS or IBD symptoms, leaky gut and NSAID damage, mostly by oral capsule
  • Recovery after surgery
  • Forum users often inject it under the skin near a tendon injury

How it is thought to work. Animal and cell work links BPC-157 to new blood vessel growth, nitric oxide signalling and local tissue repair, including in the gut lining. In rats and dogs the intact peptide is broken down to amino acids and cleared through urine and bile within minutes. How it works in people is not established.

BPC-157 dosing

23 protocols from studies, guides and community reports, grouped by goal. Tap a source badge to see where a number came from.

Injected18

Starter

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
2 weeks, then step up to the standard plan

Standard (most cited)

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Twice daily, about 12 hours apart (500 mcg a day)
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 6 weeks
Timing and details

Loading…

Acute injury

Amount
500 mcg
How often
Twice daily (1 mg a day)
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
2 to 4 weeks, then drop to the standard plan

Titration

Amount
200 to 600 mcg
How often
Once daily, stepping up every two weeks
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
8 to 12 weeks, some run to 16
Titration (3 steps) and details

Loading…

Front-loaded (daily total)

Amount
250 to 750 mcg
How often
500 to 750 mcg a day split into 2 or 3 shots for weeks 1 to 2, then 250 to 500 mcg a day for weeks 3 to 4
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 weeks

Flat once daily

Amount
250 to 500 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 12 weeks

Weekdays only

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Monday to Friday, weekends off
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
About 8 weeks per 10 mg vial
Timing and details

Loading…

Low-dose tiers

Amount
100 to 300 mcg
How often
Twice daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
2, 4 or 5 weeks for the 100, 200 or 300 mcg tier

Mild tendonitis

Amount
250 to 500 mcg
How often
Once daily; up to 500 mcg for heavier people
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 6 weeks

Partial tear or chronic tendon problem

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Twice daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
6 to 8 weeks; 10 to 12 for Achilles or rotator cuff
Timing and details

Loading…

Muscle tear

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Twice daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 6 weeks
Timing and details

Loading…

Post-surgery recovery

Amount
250 to 500 mcg
How often
Twice daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 12 weeks

General wellness

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 weeks on
Rest
2 to 4 weeks off

Animal-dose conversion

Amount
110 to 150 mcg
How often
Daily total
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Weight-based chart

Amount
1.6 to 10 mcg/kg
How often
Daily total
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Forum standard near the injury

Amount
250 to 500 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
8 to 12 weeks
Rest
4 weeks off
Timing and details

Loading…

Forum short course

Amount
500 mcg
How often
Daily for 2 weeks, then every other day
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)

Forum low-frequency elbow dose

Amount
200 to 250 mcg
How often
Every 2 to 3 days
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Oral, capsule4

Gut support (oral)

Amount
500 to 1,000 mcg
How often
Daily total
Route
Oral, capsule
Cycle
4 to 8 weeks

Oral maintenance

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
Oral, capsule
Timing and details

Loading…

Oral gut protocol

Amount
250 to 500 mcg
How often
Twice daily; 500 mcg twice daily on the intensive plan
Route
Oral, capsule
Cycle
4 to 8 weeks
Timing and details

Loading…

Oral, general

Amount
250 to 500 mcg
How often
Once or twice daily
Route
Oral, capsule

Oral, tablet1

Oral trial dose

Amount
1 to 9 mg
How often
Up to 9 mg a day, given as 1 mg tablets
Route
Oral, tablet
Timing and details

Loading…

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Full BPC-157 dosage guideEvery titration step in syringe units, missed doses and how to mix.

Vial strengths and syringe units

Every BPC-157 vial size with the water volumes sources use. Units are what to draw on a U-100 insulin syringe, worked out exactly.
BPC-157: concentration and U-100 syringe units for each vial size and water volume
WaterStrength200 mcgdose, units250 mcgdose, units500 mcgdose, units
5 mg vial
1 mLCompetitor guide5 mg/mL40.04 mL50.05 mL100.1 mL
2 mLCompetitor guide2.5 mg/mL80.08 mL100.1 mL200.2 mL
3 mLCompetitor guide1.667 mg/mL120.12 mL150.15 mL300.3 mL
10 mg vial
2 mLCompetitor guide5 mg/mL40.04 mL50.05 mL100.1 mL
3 mLCompetitor guide3.333 mg/mL60.06 mL7.50.075 mL150.15 mL
All 5 vial sizes on the dosage chart (3 more)
Units are on a U-100 insulin syringe (100 units = 1 mL). U-50 and U-30 barrels read the same units.† Water volume sourced for a different vial size. The math is exact either way.Water volumes from

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Calculate with this peptideYour vial, your water, your dose: BPC-157 in syringe units, with the math shown.

What people report

What BPC-157 users write on Reddit, counted post by post. These are reports, not measured rates or advice.

Community-reportedFrom 900 Reddit posts and comments, last mined Oct 23, 2026r/Peptides, r/Biohackers, r/Peptidesource, r/PeptideDiscussion

Doses people report for BPC-157

Injury recovery184 mentions

Amounts reported for injury recovery, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
250 mcg62
500 mcg56
1 mg13
400 mcg8
0.25 mg4

Goal not stated66 mentions

Amounts reported for goal not stated, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
500 mcg23
1 mg9
250 mcg8
0.5 mg4
10 mg4

Gut health8 mentions

Amounts reported for gut health, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
500 mcg4

Left out: 5 mentions given in syringe units, which mean different doses in different mixes; 2 mentions far outside every sourced protocol, most likely vial sizes or typos.

How often

Dosing frequencies reported, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
Once a day134
Twice a day33
5 days on, 2 off13
Every other day5
Twice a week3

Most mentioned alongside

Side effects people mention

  • Sleep problems6 mentions

    Most common fix: take dose earlier in the day (2)

  • Pain6 mentions

  • Anxiety5 mentions

    Most common fix: none (2)

  • Injection site redness5 mentions

  • Fatigue5 mentions

    Most common fix: none (2)

  • Nausea5 mentions

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

If you miss a dose

Do not double the next dose.

BPC-157 side effects

What trials and labels report, kept apart from what users and guides report. Frequencies are worded as each source states them.

Reported in studies and labels1

From clinical trials and regulatory documents.

  • Adverse events in human pilot reports

    None treatment-related across three small uncontrolled reports; a 2026 review rated the certainty very low

Reported by users and guides6

From community reports and dosing guides. Not measured rates.

  • Injection-site redness, sting, small bump or warmth

    Called common by guides; usually fades within an hour

    How people manage it

    • Rotate sites across the belly, thighs and upper arms
  • Nausea

    Called mild by guides; more likely at higher doses or with oral use on an empty stomach. Five nausea logs in one app's user data.

    How people manage it

    • Drop to about 300 mcg a day and take it with food
  • Light-headedness or dizziness

    Occasional, mostly in the first days

    How people manage it

    • Inject seated
  • Fatigue

    Reported in the first days

  • Headache

    Mild and less common

  • Blood pressure change

    Rare; guides link it to nitric oxide effects

    How people manage it

    • Use caution with blood pressure drugs or blood thinners
All 10 BPC-157 side effects and how people manage themEvery management tip, who should not use it, and side-effect questions.

Who should avoid it

  • Active or past cancerCondition

    Guides flag a theoretical risk from its blood vessel growth effects.

  • PregnancyCondition

    Guides list it as a reason to avoid.

  • Tested sportCondition

    Prohibited by WADA at all times under S0.

  • Blood thinnersSubstance

    Guides advise caution.

  • Blood pressure drugsSubstance

    Guides advise caution because of reported blood pressure changes.

Storage

Powder (before mixing)

Temperature
-20 °C

Freezer at -20 C for long-term storage, good for 2+ years. Fridge is fine short term, and a few weeks at room temperature is considered acceptable.

Mixed vial

Temperature
2 to 8 °C
Use within
28 days

Fridge at 2 to 8 C, dark, never frozen. Let it reach room temperature before drawing. Most guides say use within 28 days, others 3 to 4 weeks or 30 days. The 28 days is the bacteriostatic water preservative window, not BPC-157 stability data. Mixed with sterile water, use it in one session.

As supplied

Oral capsules keep at room temperature for 12 to 24 months.

Mixed with: Bacteriostatic water

Mixing. 5 mg in 2 mL is the usual beginner choice. Too little water makes small doses hard to draw: one guide shows 0.5 mL in a 5 mg vial putting 250 mcg at 2.5 units, where half a unit is a 20% error. Do not use saline (it can clump the peptide) or tap water.

Stacks people report

Combinations from guides and community posts, with the reason given.
  • TB-500

    The Wolverine stack: BPC-157 250 to 500 mcg a day near the injury plus TB-500 2 to 2.5 mg twice weekly for 4 to 8 weeks. One rat Achilles study found the pair did no better than either alone.

  • GHK-Cu

    Added for skin and wound goals. App users log it alongside BPC-157 more than almost anything else.

  • KPV

    A gut pairing: KPV calms inflammation while BPC-157 handles repair. Oral gut stacks also add L-glutamine and zinc carnosine.

  • Paired with growth hormone secretagogues such as CJC-1295 with ipamorelin, or MK-677, for broader recovery.

Compare BPC-157

Evidence and legal status

Evidence: limited human data

A 2025 review found 36 studies: 35 preclinical and 1 clinical. Three small human reports share an author, have no control group, and a 2026 review rated them very low certainty. The only ulcerative colitis trial is a 46-person meeting abstract. In animals, IM bioavailability was about 14 to 19% in rats and 45 to 51% in dogs. Registered: a Phase 2 subQ hamstring trial (120 people, recruiting) and a Phase 1 after rotator cuff repair.

FDA and WADA

Not FDA approved

An approval withdrawn, or removed from FDA's compounding lists.

Not FDA approved. FDA removed it from the 503A Category 2 list on April 22, 2026 because the nominations were withdrawn, and still lists its safety concerns. In July 2026 an FDA advisory committee voted to recommend it for the 503A bulks list (reported 8 to 6), against FDA staff advice. The vote is non-binding and no rule has followed yet.

On Category 2 since 2023. It was presented to the committee for ulcerative colitis. One guide reports an FDA warning letter to a peptide seller dated 2026-08-24, not verified on fda.gov. Prescription-only in Australia and New Zealand. WADA names it under S0 (non-approved substances), prohibited at all times, and has listed it since 2022.

WADA: Prohibited

BPC-157 questions

How many units is 250 mcg?

It depends on the water. A 5 mg vial with 2 mL makes 250 mcg 10 units on a U-100 syringe. A 10 mg vial with 2 mL makes it 5 units. Use the calculator for any other mix.

What is the typical dose?

Guides cluster at 250 to 500 mcg a day, most often 250 mcg twice daily. The full spread runs from 100 mcg to 1 mg a day injected. No human dose has been validated.

Where do people inject it for a knee, meniscus or back problem?

Many inject under the skin near the problem area, and forums treat that as standard. Other guides say the belly works fine because the effect is systemic, and that injecting near joints adds infection risk. Nobody injects into the joint or tendon itself. There is no human evidence either way.

Oral or injected?

By convention, oral for the gut and injection for tendons and muscles. No human study compares the two. Oral doses run higher, about 500 mcg against 250 mcg injected.

What is the difference between BPC-157 acetate and arginate?

Arginate is sold as a stable form for oral use. One patent claims about 90% oral bioavailability, but no peer-reviewed work backs that.

How long until it works?

Guides say 1 to 2 weeks for acute injuries and 4 to 6 weeks for chronic ones. No trial has measured a timeline.

Should I dose by body weight?

Most people use flat doses. Animal studies cluster near 10 mcg/kg, which converts to about 1.6 mcg/kg in humans, roughly 110 to 150 mcg a day at 70 to 90 kg. A 2 to 7 mcg/kg figure also circulates; 250 mcg twice daily is about 6 mcg/kg at 80 kg.

How long is mixed BPC-157 good for?

About 28 days in the fridge. That is the preservative window of bacteriostatic water, not a BPC-157 stability result. Mixed with sterile water, use it in one session.

What doses do people actually log?

In one tracking app with 128 BPC-157 users, the most common entry was 0.2 to 0.4 mg per injection (138 reports), then 0.4 to 0.6 mg (94).

What are the side effects and risks?

Mostly injection-site redness, mild nausea and early dizziness. The three human reports found no treatment-related adverse events, but they were tiny. The cancer concern is theoretical, based on blood vessel growth.

Who should skip it?

Guides say to avoid it with active or past cancer, in pregnancy and in tested sport, and to use caution with blood thinners or blood pressure drugs.

Is BPC-157 a steroid?

No. It is a peptide, a short chain of amino acids.

Is it banned in sport?

Yes. WADA lists it under S0, prohibited at all times.

Do I need to cycle it?

Convention is 4 to 8 weeks on and 2 to 4 off, though some run 8 to 12 weeks then 4 off. No evidence sets a rest period. If you miss a dose, do not double up.

Has it been tested in humans?

Barely. Three small uncontrolled reports: knee injections, bladder injections for interstitial cystitis (10 of 12 women resolved) and an IV safety pilot in 2 adults up to 20 mg. A Phase 2 hamstring trial and a Phase 1 rotator cuff trial are now registered.

Ask about BPC-157

Answers come from this site's pages only, with a link to each source.

Sources

44 sources, each checked by date. Record updated Oct 24, 2026. Numbers are restated in our own words and labelled by where they came from.

Competitor guide26

  1. BPC-157 protocolpeptidedosingprotocols.com · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Wolverine peptide stack guidepeptiq.io · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. How to reconstitute BPC-157bodyhackguide.co · checked Oct 23, 2026

Community-reported2

  1. BPC-157 and how to stackelitefitness.com forum · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. BPC-157 for sore jointselitefitness.com forum · checked Oct 23, 2026