Skip to content
Animal data onlyNot FDA approved

KPV

Also known as: Lys-Pro-Val · Alpha-MSH (11-13) · MSH 11-13 · KPV acetate · KPV free base

Updated 29 sources

The last three amino acids (lysine, proline, valine; about 342 Da) of alpha-MSH. It is studied as an anti-inflammatory, mainly for the gut. It does not tan you. No human trial has tested it at any dose by any route. The animal data are oral, yet most guides lead with injection.

Quick facts

Half-life
  • Not published for humans. Unmodified tripeptides are cut by blood enzymes within minutes. Figures online from 15 minutes to 24 hours have no source.
Routes
  • Subcutaneous injection
  • Oral
  • Topical
  • Nasal
  • Other route
Forms
  • Vial (powder)
  • Capsule
Reported dose ranges
  • 200 to 500 mcg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 0.5 to 2 mg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 100 to 500 mcg (oral)
  • 0.5 to 5 mg (oral)
Vial sizes
  • 5 mg, 10 mg
FDA status
  • Not FDA approved
WADA
  • Not confirmed

What people use KPV for

  • Gut inflammation: IBD, colitis, leaky gut, IBS-type symptoms, mostly by mouth
  • Skin inflammation: eczema, rosacea, acne, psoriasis
  • General or joint inflammation, by injection
  • Sinus or airway inflammation, by nasal spray
  • Part of the KLOW blend (10 mg per 80 mg vial) and Tri-Heal (TB-500 25, BPC-157 10, KPV 10 mg)

How it is thought to work. In animal and cell studies KPV enters gut cells through the PepT1 transporter and dampens NF-kB inflammatory signalling at nanomolar levels. Sources split on receptors: one says partial MC1R and MC3R activity, others say it works without melanocortin receptors. It lacks the part of alpha-MSH that drives pigment.

KPV dosing

18 protocols from studies, guides and community reports, grouped by goal. Tap a source badge to see where a number came from.

Intranasal2

Intranasal

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Twice daily
Route
Nasal
Cycle
2 to 4 weeks

Intranasal (daily total)

Amount
200 to 800 mcg
How often
200 to 400 mcg a day; advanced 400 to 800 mcg
Route
Nasal

Other protocols: injected9

Titration

Amount
200 to 500 mcg
How often
Once daily, stepping up weekly
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
8 to 12 weeks, up to 16
Titration (4 steps) and details

Loading…

Conservative

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
2 weeks, then reassess

Standard

Amount
500 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 weeks, then reassess
Timing and details

Loading…

Flare

Amount
500 mcg
How often
Twice daily, morning and evening
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
2 to 4 weeks at most

Step-down after a course

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Every other day
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Daily range

Amount
200 to 500 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 6 weeks

Open-ended daily

Amount
200 to 400 mcg
How often
Daily until the desired result
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)

Once or twice daily

Amount
200 to 500 mcg
How often
Once or twice daily, up to 500 mcg twice daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 8 weeks

High outlier

Amount
0.5 to 2 mg
How often
Once or twice daily, up to 5 mg a day
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
6 to 12 weeks
Rest
2 to 4 weeks off
Timing and details

Loading…

Other protocols: oral, capsule5

Gut (oral)

Amount
200 to 500 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
Oral, capsule
Timing and details

Loading…

Oral split dose

Amount
100 to 250 mcg
How often
Morning and evening
Route
Oral, capsule
Timing and details

Loading…

Oral, common

Amount
0.5 to 2 mg
How often
500 mcg twice daily is common; range once or twice daily
Route
Oral, capsule
Timing and details

Loading…

Oral chart

Amount
250 mcg
How often
Twice daily
Route
Oral, capsule

Oral ladder (daily total)

Amount
0.5 to 5 mg
How often
500 mcg, then 1 mg, then 1 to 2 mg split; advanced 2 to 5 mg a day
Route
Oral, capsule
Timing and details

Loading…

Other protocols: topical1

Topical

Amount
7.5 mg
How often
Twice daily
Route
Topical

Other protocols: other route1

Rectal, ulcerative colitis

Amount
1 to 2 mg
How often
Nightly
Route
Other route
Timing and details

Loading…

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Full KPV dosage guideEvery titration step in syringe units, missed doses and how to mix.

Vial strengths and syringe units

Every KPV vial size with the water volumes sources use. Units are what to draw on a U-100 insulin syringe, worked out exactly.
KPV: concentration and U-100 syringe units for each vial size and water volume
WaterStrength200 mcgdose, units250 mcgdose, units500 mcgdose, units
5 mg vial
1 mLCompetitor guide5 mg/mL40.04 mL50.05 mL100.1 mL
2 mLCompetitor guide2.5 mg/mL80.08 mL100.1 mL200.2 mL
10 mg vial
2 mLCompetitor guide5 mg/mL40.04 mL50.05 mL100.1 mL
3 mLCompetitor guide3.333 mg/mL60.06 mL7.50.075 mL150.15 mL
Units are on a U-100 insulin syringe (100 units = 1 mL). U-50 and U-30 barrels read the same units.Water volumes from

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Calculate with this peptideYour vial, your water, your dose: KPV in syringe units, with the math shown.

What people report

What KPV users write on Reddit, counted post by post. These are reports, not measured rates or advice.

Community-reportedFrom 900 Reddit posts and comments, last mined Oct 23, 2026r/Peptides, r/Biohackers, r/Peptidesource, r/PeptideDiscussion

Doses people report for KPV

Goal not stated80 mentions

Amounts reported for goal not stated, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
500 mcg15
250 mcg11
10 mg8
400 mcg8
200 mcg7

Gut health29 mentions

Amounts reported for gut health, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
500 mcg8
250 mcg6
1 mg3
0.5 mg2
10 mg2

Injury recovery27 mentions

Amounts reported for injury recovery, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
200 mcg6
250 mcg6
400 mcg5
500 mcg3
1 mg2

Left out: 2 mentions given in syringe units, which mean different doses in different mixes.

How often

Dosing frequencies reported, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
Once a day77
Twice a day11
5 days on, 2 off9
Every other day7
Once a week2

Most mentioned alongside

Side effects people mention

  • Fatigue16 mentions

    Most common fix: none (2)

  • Acne5 mentions

  • Itching5 mentions

  • Anxiety4 mentions

    Most common fix: stop taking it (2)

  • Vivid dreams4 mentions

  • Rash4 mentions

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

If you miss a dose

Skip it; do not double the next dose.

KPV side effects

What trials and labels report, kept apart from what users and guides report. Frequencies are worded as each source states them.

Reported by users and guides6

From community reports and dosing guides. Not measured rates.

  • Brief sting, warmth or pink bleb

    Called normal; fades within an hour

  • Mild injection-site redness or swelling

    Occasional

    How people manage it

    • Reassess if lumps or redness last 24 hours
  • Stomach upset with oral use

    Occasional and mild, more likely at higher doses

  • Mild headache

    Occasional

    How people manage it

    • Reassess if headache or nausea follows doses
  • Change in stool frequency

    Mild, in week 1

  • Slight fatigue

    First days

All 8 KPV side effects and how people manage themEvery management tip, who should not use it, and side-effect questions.

Who should avoid it

  • PregnancyCondition

    Listed as a reason to avoid by guides.

  • Active infectionCondition

    Blunting inflammation could make an infection harder to fight, in theory.

  • Biologics or immunosuppressantsSubstance

    Guides say not without a prescriber, since both damp the immune response.

  • Prescribed IBD medicineSubstance

    Guides say KPV is not a replacement for it.

Storage

Powder (before mixing)

Temperature
-20 °C

Freezer at -20 C. One guide says room temperature or the fridge is fine.

Mixed vial

Temperature
2 to 8 °C
Use within
28 days

Fridge at 2 to 8 C, not frozen. Most guides say 28 days; others say about 4 weeks, 30 days or 21 days. Plain sterile water gives a much shorter window.

Mixed with: Bacteriostatic water

Mixing. 10 mg is the most common vial, usually in 3 mL glass. The solution should be clear and colourless. Oral capsules are sold at 500 mcg to 1 mg or 500 mcg to 2 mg.

Stacks people report

Combinations from guides and community posts, with the reason given.
  • BPC-157

    The gut pairing: KPV calms inflammation, BPC-157 repairs tissue. Typical: KPV 200 to 500 mcg oral plus BPC-157 250 to 500 mcg a day for 4 to 8 weeks, or KPV 500 mcg oral twice daily plus BPC-157 250 mcg subQ daily.

  • TB-500

    KPV 300 to 500 mcg subQ plus TB-500 2 to 2.5 mg twice weekly for 4 to 6 weeks.

  • Thymosin alpha 1

    Paired for inflammation with thymosin alpha-1 at 1.5 mg twice weekly.

  • Ll 37

    Paired for skin and wounds.

  • GHK-Cu

    Topically: KPV cream first, then GHK-Cu serum. Both also sit in the KLOW blend.

  • MOTS-c

    App users log KPV most with GHK-Cu, BPC-157, TB-500 and MOTS-c.

Compare KPV

Evidence and legal status

Evidence: animal data only

Animal and cell only. Oral KPV reduced DSS and TNBS colitis in mice through PepT1, sped recovery in two mouse colitis models, and reduced inflammation-driven tumours in a PepT1-dependent mouse model. Nanoparticle and hydrogel delivery has been tested in rodents. No KPV trials are registered.

FDA and WADA

Not FDA approved

An approval withdrawn, or removed from FDA's compounding lists.

Not FDA approved. Removed from 503A Category 2 on 2026-04-15 because nominations were withdrawn, not for safety. In July 2026 FDA staff advised against listing KPV, citing no human studies; the advisory committee voted to recommend it anyway (reported 8 to 6). Non-binding; rulemaking is still required.

KPV is not named on the WADA 2026 Prohibited List. The S0 class covers any pharmacological substance without human therapeutic approval, which on its plain wording could include KPV. No source addresses this directly.

WADA: Not confirmed

KPV questions

What is KPV?

A three amino acid fragment of alpha-MSH studied for inflammation.

What does KPV do?

In animal and cell studies it dampens NF-kB inflammatory signalling, mainly in the gut. Oral KPV reduced two kinds of chemically induced colitis in mice.

What is the typical dose?

Most guides land at 200 to 500 mcg a day. The full spread is 200 mcg to 2 mg per dose. One guide argues that more than 500 mcg buys nothing documented, since KPV blocks NF-kB at about 10 nM in cells and 500 mcg already gives about 0.5 uM in plasma.

How many units is 500 mcg?

With 10 mg in 2 mL, 500 mcg is 10 units on a U-100 syringe. Use the calculator for other mixes.

Morning or night?

There is no data. Some guides reason from body clocks (morning injections, night for topical), another says there is no strong daily rhythm. Consistency matters more than the hour.

Oral or injected?

Oral is the only route with animal efficacy data, and it reaches the gut through PepT1. The mouse studies gave KPV at 100 uM in drinking water.

Can it be used on the skin?

Guides give 0.01 to 0.1% cream twice daily for 4 to 8 weeks, or 0.05 to 0.2%, up to 0.5%. No commercial topical KPV product was found. In a lab study, KPV barely passed through skin on its own; microneedles plus a mild electric current increased delivery.

Does KPV tan you?

No. It lacks the part of alpha-MSH that drives pigment, and it protected mice with a non-working MC1 receptor from lethal colitis.

What is the half-life?

Never measured in humans. Unmodified tripeptides are cut by blood enzymes within minutes.

How long until it works?

Guides say give it 3 to 4 weeks before judging. If you miss a dose, skip it rather than doubling.

What do users report?

In one tracking app, users most often log 0.2 to 0.4 mg per injection (116 logs), then 0.4 to 0.6 mg (89). 98% rated their experience favorable.

Who should skip it?

Guides list pregnancy, active infection, and people on biologics or immunosuppressants without a prescriber. It is not a replacement for IBD medicine.

Any human studies?

None. FDA staff found no human studies, and ClinicalTrials.gov had no KPV trials as of 2026-10-23.

Is it FDA approved?

No. A July 2026 advisory committee vote to allow compounding is non-binding.

Ask about KPV

Answers come from this site's pages only, with a link to each source.

Sources

29 sources, each checked by date. Record updated Oct 23, 2026. Numbers are restated in our own words and labelled by where they came from.

Regulatory5

  1. FDA to remove 12 peptides from Category 2Frier Levitt · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. An FDA committee just voted in favor of peptidesTIME, via a news report · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. FDA panel votes to loosen restrictions for four peptidesPharmExec, via a news report · checked Oct 23, 2026

Vendor guide2

  1. KPV 10 mg product pageVendor product page · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. KPV 10 mg product pageVendor product page · checked Oct 23, 2026

Competitor guide16

  1. KPV peptidepeptidedosages.com · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. KPV protocolpeptidedosingprotocols.com · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. KLOW protocol (KPV in blend)pathtopeptides.com · checked Oct 23, 2026

Community-reported1

  1. KPV wiki, app user log datapeptiq.io, via a competitor guide · checked Oct 23, 2026