Skip to content

Hexarelin vs MK-677 (Ibutamoren)

Updated 13 sources

Key differences

  1. 1MK-677 is an oral small molecule with all-day action; hexarelin is an injected peptide with a short pulse.
  2. 2Both hit the same ghrelin receptor, so guides call taking them together redundant.
  3. 3Hexarelin is an injected peptide with a short, strong pulse that fades with daily use; MK-677 is oral and works all day.
  4. 4Both hit the ghrelin receptor, so guides do not stack them.

Side by side

Facts from each record, in the same words as their own pages.
Hexarelin and MK-677 (Ibutamoren) side by side
HexarelinMK-677 (Ibutamoren)
Category
  • GH axis
  • GH axis
Evidence
  • Limited human data
  • Some human trials
FDA status
  • Not FDA approvedRegulatory
  • FDA 503A Category 2Regulatory
WADA
  • Prohibited
  • Prohibited
Half-life
  • About 55 minutes, per a 2026 review. The 1994 study it cites gave 55 minutes for the fall in blood GH after a dose, so the figure describes the GH response more than the peptide itself.Clinical study
  • About 70 minutes in plasma, per guides.Competitor guide
  • About 4 to 6 hours, measured in beagles; no human plasma half-life in the sources.Reference work
  • About 24 hours, per most guides. That figure tracks how long the effect lasts more than plasma levels.Competitor guide
Routes
  • Subcutaneous injection, Intravenous (IV), Nasal
  • Oral
Forms
  • Vial (powder)
  • Capsule, Oral solution
Reported doses
  • 50 to 300 mcg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 1.5 mcg/kg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 0.5 to 2 mcg/kg (intravenous (iv))
  • 2 to 25 mg (oral)
  • 0.8 to 3.2 mg/kg (oral)
Most cited frequency
  • 1 to 2 times a day
  • Once daily
Vial sizes
  • 2 mg, 5 mgCompetitor guide
Not reported
Mixed vial keeps
  • Fridge, 2 to 8 °C; never freeze.Competitor guide
Not reported
Protocols on file
  • 16
  • 16

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Read each in full

Sources

13 sources, each checked by date. Record updated Oct 24, 2026. Numbers are restated in our own words and labelled by where they came from.

Reference work1

  1. IbutamorenWikipedia · checked Oct 24, 2026

Competitor guide7

  1. Hexarelin dosage guideBodyHackGuide · checked Oct 24, 2026
  2. MK-677 (Ibutamoren) dosage guideBodyHackGuide · checked Oct 24, 2026
  3. Hexarelin: dosing, side effects and FDA statusPeptIQ · checked Oct 24, 2026
  4. HexarelinPeptideDeck · checked Oct 24, 2026