Skip to content
Limited human dataFDA 503A Category 1

NAD+

Also known as: NAD · NAD plus · Nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide · beta-NAD · NAD peptide · NAD 500 · NAD 1000

Updated 60 sources

NAD+ is the coenzyme every cell burns to make energy and run repair enzymes. It is not a peptide, but it is sold like one: powder in a vial, mixed and injected. Home users inject 25 to 100 mg under the skin a few times a week; clinics drip 250 to 1,000 mg by IV. Swallowed NAD+ barely absorbs. No controlled human trial has set a subQ dose, and the IV data is small and rough on tolerability.

Quick facts

Half-life
  • Not established. No study reports human kinetic values for injected NAD+, per a 2026 review. In one IV study, plasma levels stayed flat for the first 2 hours of a 6-hour infusion.
Routes
  • Subcutaneous injection
  • Intramuscular injection
  • Intravenous (IV)
  • Nasal
Forms
  • Vial (powder)
  • Nasal spray
Reported dose ranges
  • 25 to 500 mg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 50 to 100 mg (intramuscular injection)
  • 250 to 1,000 mg (intravenous (iv))
  • 10 to 100 mg (nasal)
Vial sizes
  • 100 mg, 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg, 1,000 mg, 1,500 mg
FDA status
  • FDA 503A Category 1
WADA
  • Not confirmed

What people use NAD+ for

  • Daytime energy and fatigue, often alongside a GLP-1 like retatrutide or tirzepatide, as commonly reported on r/Peptides
  • Longevity and mitochondrial support, usually stacked with MOTS-c or SS-31
  • Brain fog and cognition, including posters recovering from concussion or chronic fatigue
  • Multi-day IV programs for addiction, withdrawal and neurodegenerative use, offered by clinics
  • Skin after weight loss, though experienced users say it does not fix collagen

How it is thought to work. NAD+ shuttles electrons in the reactions that turn food into ATP, and it is the fuel for sirtuins and PARPs, enzymes tied to DNA repair and aging. Levels are said to fall with age, which is the whole pitch, though a 2026 review questions that for whole blood. Injected NAD+ may be broken down to NMN or NR outside cells before it gets in. In the one IV kinetics study, blood levels did not rise for 2 hours, as if cleared as fast as it went in.

NAD+ dosing

19 protocols from studies, guides and community reports, grouped by goal. Tap a source badge to see where a number came from.

Starter2

Starter (subQ)

Amount
25 mg
How often
Twice a week
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
2 weeks, then move to the standard plan
Timing and details

Loading…

Starter (subQ, community)

Amount
25 to 50 mg
How often
Twice a week
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

IV study dose2

IV study dose, 6 days

Amount
1,000 mg
How often
Once daily for 6 days
Route
Intravenous (IV)
Cycle
6 days
Timing and details

Loading…

IV study dose, 4 days

Amount
500 mg
How often
Once daily for 4 consecutive days, in 500 mL saline
Route
Intravenous (IV)
Cycle
4 days
Timing and details

Loading…

Nasal spray2

Nasal spray

Amount
10 mg
How often
One 5 mg spray per nostril, once or twice a day (10 to 20 mg a day)
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Timing and details

Loading…

Nasal spray, higher dose

Amount
100 mg
How often
Once daily, one spray
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Timing and details

Loading…

Other protocols: injected8

Standard (subQ, where most home plans land)

Amount
50 mg
How often
3 times a week
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
8 to 12 weeks, then a break
Timing and details

Loading…

Standard range (subQ)

Amount
50 to 100 mg
How often
2 to 3 times a week (one guide allows up to 5)
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Daily ramp over 16 weeks (subQ)

Amount
50 to 100 mg
How often
Once daily, stepping 50 then 75 then 100 mg
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
16 weeks
Timing and details

Loading…

Higher end (subQ)

Amount
100 to 250 mg
How often
Daily, or 3 to 5 times a week
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Loading phase (subQ)

Amount
250 to 500 mg
How often
500 mg daily for 5 days, then 250 mg 3 times a week
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Common community dose (subQ)

Amount
50 to 100 mg
How often
3 to 4 days a week
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Higher community doses (subQ)

Amount
50 to 200 mg
How often
3 times a week
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Intramuscular

Amount
50 to 100 mg
How often
1 to 3 times a week
Route
IM, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Other protocols: intravenous (iv)5

IV maintenance (clinic)

Amount
250 to 1,000 mg
How often
Weekly or every other week
Route
Intravenous (IV)
Timing and details

Loading…

IV weekly series (clinic)

Amount
250 mg
How often
Weekly for 4 weeks, then monthly
Route
Intravenous (IV)
Cycle
4 weekly infusions, then monthly maintenance

IV loading series (clinic)

Amount
500 to 1,000 mg
How often
2 to 3 times a week for 2 to 4 weeks, then monthly
Route
Intravenous (IV)
Cycle
2 to 4 weeks, then monthly
Timing and details

Loading…

IV intensive (addiction and neuro programs)

Amount
500 to 1,000 mg
How often
Daily for 7 to 10 days
Route
Intravenous (IV)
Cycle
7 to 10 days
Timing and details

Loading…

IV pilot study dose

Amount
750 mg
How often
One infusion over 6 hours (about 2 mg per minute)
Route
Intravenous (IV)
Cycle
Single infusion
Timing and details

Loading…

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Full NAD+ dosage guideEvery titration step in syringe units, missed doses and how to mix.

Vial strengths and syringe units

Every NAD+ vial size with the water volumes sources use. Units are what to draw on a U-100 insulin syringe, worked out exactly.
NAD+: concentration and U-100 syringe units for each vial size and water volume
WaterStrength25 mgdose, units50 mgdose, units100 mgdose, units
500 mg vial
2.5 mLCompetitor guide200 mg/mL12.50.125 mL250.25 mL500.5 mL
3 mLCompetitor guide166.667 mg/mL150.15 mL300.3 mL600.6 mL
5 mLCompetitor guide100 mg/mL250.25 mL500.5 mL1001 mL
750 mg vial
7.5 mLCompetitor guide100 mg/mL250.25 mL500.5 mL1001 mL
1,000 mg vial
3 mLCompetitor guide333.333 mg/mL7.50.075 mL150.15 mL300.3 mL
5 mLCompetitor guide200 mg/mL12.50.125 mL250.25 mL500.5 mL
10 mLCompetitor guide100 mg/mL250.25 mL500.5 mL1001 mL
All 6 vial sizes on the dosage chart (3 more)
Units are on a U-100 insulin syringe (100 units = 1 mL). U-50 and U-30 barrels read the same units.† Water volume sourced for a different vial size. The math is exact either way.Water volumes from

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Calculate with this peptideYour vial, your water, your dose: NAD+ in syringe units, with the math shown.

What people report

What NAD+ users write on Reddit, counted post by post. These are reports, not measured rates or advice.

Community-reportedFrom 900 Reddit posts and comments, last mined Oct 23, 2026r/Biohackers, r/Peptidesource, r/Peptides, r/PeptideDiscussion

Doses people report for NAD+

Goal not stated228 mentions

Amounts reported for goal not stated, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
100 mg55
50 mg42
25 mg32
500 mg20
1,000 mg17

Longevity and energy50 mentions

Amounts reported for longevity and energy, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
100 mg17
50 mg12
25 mg10
20 mg4
75 mg3

Focus and mood9 mentions

Amounts reported for focus and mood, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
10 mg2

Left out: 23 mentions given in syringe units, which mean different doses in different mixes; 2 mentions far outside every sourced protocol, most likely vial sizes or typos.

How often

Dosing frequencies reported, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
Three times a week67
Once a day44
Twice a week36
Every other day22
5 days on, 2 off12

Most mentioned alongside

Side effects people mention

  • Fatigue19 mentions

    Most common fixes: stop taking it (4), lower the dose (3)

  • Flushing13 mentions

    Most common fix: none (2)

  • Nausea9 mentions

  • Headache7 mentions

    Most common fix: none (3)

  • Anxiety7 mentions

  • Burning sensation6 mentions

    Most common fix: stop taking it (2)

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

NAD+ side effects

What trials and labels report, kept apart from what users and guides report. Frequencies are worded as each source states them.

Reported in studies and labels3

From clinical trials and regulatory documents.

  • IV infusion reactions: cramping, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, flushing, fast heart rate, chest pressure

    All 6 NAD+ IV clients in one 2026 study had moderate to severe symptoms that ended with the infusion. A review notes no study gives rates

    How people manage it

    • Slow the drip; the 2026 review ties these effects to faster infusion rates
  • Small blood test shifts after IV

    Grant 2019 saw small, not clinically significant shifts (bilirubin up; AST, GGT and LD down). A 2024 preprint saw white cells and neutrophils rise after NAD+ IV

  • Severe chills, shaking, vomiting or low blood pressure from contaminated product

    FDA reports consistent with endotoxin; one 2026 warning letter describes 3 ER visits after a lot tested at 3,360 EU/mL

    How people manage it

    • FDA warns that food-grade NAD+ is not suitable for sterile injectables; these reactions come from contamination, not NAD+ itself

Reported by users and guides6

From community reports and dosing guides. Not measured rates.

  • Sting or burn during the injection

    Commonly reported on r/Peptides; 64 injection-site irritation reports in one app's user logs

    How people manage it

    • Add more water per vial; posters say a weaker mix stings less
  • Redness or a small firm lump at the site

    Expected by guides; redness fades in an hour or two, the lump in a day or two

    How people manage it

    • Rotate sites
  • Whole-body muscle cramping or contractions minutes after a fast push

    Several users in one r/Peptides thread describe it; it passed in about 2 to 5 minutes

    How people manage it

    • Push much slower: one user injects about 30 mg, waits 1 to 2 minutes, then finishes over 3 to 5 minutes total
  • Insomnia or feeling amped

    Reported on r/Peptides, even with a 7 am dose for some

    How people manage it

    • Dose in the morning, which is near universal advice
  • Headache

    Reported after a first shot on r/Peptides; 66 headache reports in one app's user logs

  • Nausea

    64 nausea reports in one app's user logs

All 9 NAD+ side effects and how people manage themEvery management tip, who should not use it, and side-effect questions.

Who should avoid it

  • Food-grade NAD+ in injectionsSubstance

    FDA warned that food-grade NAD+ is not suitable for sterile compounding after reports of severe chills, shaking and vomiting consistent with endotoxin.

Storage

Powder (before mixing)

Dry, dark place. Room temperature is fine short term, 2 to 8 C for the long haul; one guide says -20 C. Guides disagree, and one even contradicts itself.

Mixed vial

Temperature
2 to 8 °C
Use within
28 days

Fridge at 2 to 8 C, out of light, never frozen. About 4 weeks is the usual window, though guides range from 7 to 30 days and no stability data exists. Throw it out if it turns yellow or brown, cloudy or has particles. Crystals in the fridge usually mean the mix is too strong.

As supplied

Use within
28 days

Pharmacy premixed vials (100 or 200 mg/mL) keep about 90 days from compounding in the fridge; discard 28 days after the first puncture.

Mixed with: Bacteriostatic water

Mixing. The most repeated mix is 500 mg with 5 mL, which makes 100 mg/mL so 1 unit on a U-100 syringe is 1 mg. Posters use 3 to 5 mL for 500 mg and say more water stings less. Strong mixes crystallize in the fridge: one user got crystals at 200 mg/mL, and replies blame anything above about 250 mg/mL when cold. Use more water.

Stacks people report

Combinations from guides and community posts, with the reason given.
  • MOTS-c

    Both are pitched for mitochondria and energy. No mechanistic conflict, but no human study of the pair. Posters run NAD+ 50 mg a day with MOTS-c 1 to 2 mg a day, and flushing questions come up.

  • SS-31

    One guide pairs SS-31 5 mg daily with NAD+ 100 mg subQ daily, mornings, for 8 to 12 weeks, then 4 weeks off. A poster ran SS-31 5 mg daily with NAD+ 100 mg every other day. The SS-31, MOTS-c and NAD+ trio is a frequent r/Peptides topic.

  • 5-Amino-1MQ

    Listed as stackable with NAD+ by r/Peptides users. It is an NNMT inhibitor. We found no sourced explanation of how it would spare NAD+.

  • Tmg

    Methyl donors (TMG, folate, methylcobalamin) are suggested above 500 mg a day of precursor intake or with high homocysteine. Some posters blame methyl group depletion for bad reactions.

  • Epitalon

    Grouped with NAD+ in longevity stacks by one guide.

  • Semax

    Grouped with NAD+ for cognition by one guide.

Compare NAD+

Evidence and legal status

Evidence: limited human data

Human evidence is sparse and mostly small, uncontrolled IV studies. Grant 2019 (11 men, 750 mg over 6 hours) saw plasma NAD+ rise 398% and urinary NAD+ 538% by 6 hours. Two small studies found NAD+ IV harder to tolerate than NR IV. No published human subQ data exists. Registered trials: NCT06919328 (NAD+ vs NR injections, 70 planned) and NCT07251608 (NR only). Precursors NMN and NR have the randomized trial data. On r/longevity, a shared review of 113 studies found no eligible outcome trials of IV or IM NAD+.

FDA and WADA

FDA 503A Category 1

On FDA's list of bulk substances under evaluation for compounding.

Not FDA approved as an injectable drug. NAD is in Category 1 (under evaluation) on FDA's 503A list updated May 14, 2026, so 503A pharmacies can compound it. It is not on the 503B bulks list.

A disodium salt trihydrate form sits in 503A Category 3. In 2024 FDA warned compounders against food-grade NAD+ in sterile products after reactions consistent with endotoxin. FDA declared oral NMN lawful in supplements on September 29, 2025. WADA does not name NAD+ that we found, but IV infusions over 100 mL per 12 hours are a prohibited method outside hospital care, which catches most NAD+ drips.

WADA: Not confirmed

NAD+ questions

How much bacteriostatic water for a 500 mg NAD+ vial?

Most guides say 5 mL. That makes 100 mg/mL, so 1 unit on a U-100 insulin syringe is 1 mg and a 50 mg dose is 50 units. Some guides use 3 mL, which makes about 167 mg/mL and gets close to the strength where crystals become a problem in the fridge. Use the calculator for any other mix.

How much NAD+ should I inject?

Most home subQ use sits at 25 to 100 mg a shot. Guides start around 25 mg twice a week, and 50 mg 3 times a week is where most home plans land. Raise about 25 mg at a time if it goes well. No human study has set a subQ dose, so all of this is convention.

How often do you take NAD+ injections?

Two to three times a week is the norm. Some guides go daily, at 100 to 250 mg, and one guide runs a 16-week daily ramp. Weekly totals across guides range from 50 mg to 1,750 mg, which shows how loose the convention is.

Why does NAD+ burn when I inject it?

NAD+ is acidic, and a fast push makes it worse. Posters on r/Peptides fix it by adding more water and pushing slower. Buffered NAD+ is said to mix near pH 7 to 8.5 instead of 3 to 4, which stings less.

Why did my muscles cramp or seize after an NAD+ shot?

Several r/Peptides users describe sudden whole-body cramping a few minutes after pushing NAD+ fast, gone within about 2 to 5 minutes. The usual fix is a much slower push: inject a little, wait a minute or two, then finish over several minutes. After a bad one, posters restart at 15 to 25 mg.

Why did my NAD+ crystallize in the fridge?

It is too concentrated for the cold. One user put 5 mL in a 1,000 mg vial (200 mg/mL) and got crystals. Replies point at anything above about 250 mg/mL when chilled and say to use more water.

Should I take NAD+ in the morning or at night?

Morning. NAD+ keeps a lot of people awake when taken later, and a few report it even with a 7 am dose. Guides say the same.

Injection or nasal spray?

Users on r/Peptides lean toward injection. Nasal sprays deliver about 5 mg per spray, so even a 20 mg day is small next to a 50 to 100 mg shot. No human study has measured blood NAD+ after a nasal dose.

What strength are NAD+ nasal sprays?

Compounding pharmacies make them at 300 mg/mL in a 15 mL bottle. Research sprays run weaker, for example 500 mg in 10 mL (50 mg/mL), about 5 mg per 0.1 mL spray. Check the label before you count sprays.

Is NAD+ a peptide?

No. It is a coenzyme every cell uses to make energy and run repair enzymes like sirtuins and PARPs. It sits next to peptides because it is sold the same way: powder in a vial, mixed with bacteriostatic water, drawn with an insulin syringe.

Will NAD+ shut down my own production?

Users on r/Peptides say no. We found no data either way.

How long until I feel NAD+?

One guide says 2 to 4 weeks for subQ. Another says hours to a day after an IV session.

How long does mixed NAD+ last?

About 4 weeks in the fridge by convention. Guides range from 7 to 30 days, and none has stability data. Toss it if it turns yellow or brown, cloudy or grainy.

IV or subQ NAD+?

IV is 250 to 1,000 mg over 1 to 4 or more hours in a clinic, at roughly $300 to $1,000 a session. SubQ is 25 to 100 mg at home, at about $2 to $8 per 100 mg. No human study has compared them head to head. A registered trial is now set up to test IM, subQ and IV push.

Is there a weekly limit for subQ NAD+?

Pharmacy guidance starts around 20 mg and works up toward 100 mg, and puts about 300 mg a week subQ as the ceiling without further evaluation. One competitor guide uses the same 300 mg figure.

Is NAD+ IV better than NR IV?

The small studies so far favor NR. In Reyna 2026, NR went in over 37 minutes against 97 for NAD+, and every NAD+ client had moderate to severe symptoms during the drip. In a 2024 preprint, NR IV raised blood NAD+ 20.7% at 3 hours and beat NAD+ IV, which also caused more and stronger infusion reactions.

I got chills and shaking after an NAD+ shot. Is that normal?

No. FDA has received reports of severe chills, shaking, vomiting and fatigue after NAD+ injectables that fit endotoxin contamination, and warned compounders off food-grade NAD+. A January 2026 warning letter describes 3 people sent to the ER with low blood pressure and shaking after one lot. Normal NAD+ effects are sting, cramping on a fast push and restlessness.

Does WADA ban NAD+?

We found no listing of NAD+ itself. The catch is the drip: IV infusions over 100 mL per 12 hours are a prohibited method outside hospital care, surgery or diagnostics, and a typical NAD+ drip is 250 to 500 mL.

Does blood NAD+ really drop with age?

It is debated. A 2026 review calls human evidence sparse and says healthy aging may not lower whole-blood NAD+. That cuts against the core pitch for topping it up.

What is the half-life of NAD+?

Nobody has measured it for injected NAD+. Some guides print about 45 minutes for IV, others just say minutes, and neither cites a source. In the one IV kinetics study, blood levels stayed flat for 2 hours while it went in, then climbed.

Ask about NAD+

Answers come from this site's pages only, with a link to each source.

Sources

60 sources, each checked by date. Record updated Oct 23, 2026. Numbers are restated in our own words and labelled by where they came from.

Clinical study8

  1. NCT06919328, NR vs NAD+ injectionsClinicalTrials.gov · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Grant et al. 2019, IV NAD+ pilotPMC · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. Narrative review of IV NAD+ (2026)Frontiers in Aging · checked Oct 23, 2026

Vendor guide2

  1. NAD+ InjectionEmpower Pharmacy · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. NAD+ Nasal SprayEmpower Pharmacy · checked Oct 23, 2026

Competitor guide15

  1. NAD compound pagebodyhackguide.co · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. NAD+ dosage chartpeptidedeck.com · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. NAD+ Quick Startpeptidedosingprotocols.com · checked Oct 23, 2026

Community-reported29

  1. I have a vial of 500mg NAD (comment: 5 mL, 25 to 50 mg)r/Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Bizarre NAD+ subq reaction (comment: restart low)r/Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. NAD+ dosing (comment)r/Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026