Skip to content
Strong human trialsFDA approved as Ozempic +2

Semaglutide

Also known as: Ozempic · Wegovy · Wegovy HD · Rybelsus · Ozempic tablets · Compounded semaglutide

Updated 32 sources

Semaglutide is a once-weekly GLP-1 receptor agonist from Novo Nordisk, a modified gut hormone built to last about a week in the blood. It is FDA approved as Ozempic, Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets for type 2 diabetes and as Wegovy for weight, heart risk and MASH, in weekly shots, daily tablets and a 7.2 mg high dose. Many people instead use compounded pharmacy vials or research-labeled powder, which have no trial data of their own. In STEP 1, 2.4 mg weekly averaged about 15% weight loss, and about two-thirds of it came back within a year of stopping.

Quick facts

Half-life
  • About 1 week. It is still present 5 to 7 weeks after the last dose.
Routes
  • Subcutaneous injection
  • Oral
Reported dose ranges
  • 0.125 to 7.2 mg (subcutaneous injection)
  • 1.5 to 25 mg (oral)
  • 300 to 1,000 mcg (subcutaneous injection)
Vial sizes
  • 5 mg, 10 mg, 20 mg, 30 mg
FDA status
  • FDA approved as Ozempic +2
Brand names
  • Ozempic (Novo Nordisk): Type 2 diabetes plus heart and kidney risk reduction; weekly injection, and Ozempic tablets (1.5, 4 and 9 mg daily) for diabetes
  • Wegovy (Novo Nordisk): Weight management, heart risk reduction and MASH; weekly injection up to 2.4 mg, Wegovy HD 7.2 mg, and a daily tablet up to 25 mg
  • Rybelsus (Novo Nordisk): Type 2 diabetes; daily tablet
WADA
  • Not prohibited

What people use Semaglutide for

  • Weight loss, the main goal: branded Wegovy, compounded vials from telehealth, or research vials
  • Blood sugar control in type 2 diabetes (Ozempic, Rybelsus, Ozempic tablets)
  • Keeping weight off after reaching a goal, at lower or stretched-out doses
  • Lowering cardiovascular risk, as shown in SELECT and listed on the Wegovy label
  • MASH, a fatty liver disease, which is on the Wegovy label

How it is thought to work. Semaglutide copies GLP-1, a hormone your gut releases after meals. It activates the GLP-1 receptor, which turns down appetite, slows how fast the stomach empties and boosts insulin release after eating. Changes to the molecule let it last about a week in the blood, so one shot a week is enough.

Semaglutide dosing

12 protocols from studies, guides and community reports, grouped by goal. Tap a source badge to see where a number came from.

Type 2 diabetes3

Type 2 diabetes, FDA label titration (Ozempic injection)

Amount
0.25 to 2 mg
How often
Once weekly, same day each week; at least 4 weeks per step, then hold at 0.5, 1 or 2 mg (2 mg max)
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Cycle
Long term; the label has no off cycle
Titration (4 steps) and details

Loading…

Type 2 diabetes, FDA label titration (Rybelsus tablets, oral)

Amount
3 to 14 mg
How often
Once daily; 30 days at 3 mg, then 7 mg, then 14 mg if needed; hold at 7 or 14 mg
Route
Oral
Timing and details

Loading…

Type 2 diabetes, FDA label titration (Ozempic tablets, oral)

Amount
1.5 to 9 mg
How often
Once daily; 30 days at 1.5 mg, then 4 mg, then 9 mg if needed; hold at 4 or 9 mg
Route
Oral
Timing and details

Loading…

Weight loss6

Weight loss, FDA label titration (Wegovy injection)

Amount
0.25 to 2.4 mg
How often
Once weekly; 4 weeks per step, then hold at 2.4 mg
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Cycle
Long term; the label has no off cycle
Titration (5 steps) and details

Loading…

Weight loss, FDA label high dose (Wegovy HD 7.2 mg)

Amount
7.2 mg
How often
Once weekly at 7.2 mg (label maximum)
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Timing and details

Loading…

Weight loss, FDA label titration (Wegovy tablets, oral)

Amount
1.5 to 25 mg
How often
Once daily; 30 days each at 1.5, 4 and 9 mg, then hold at 25 mg
Route
Oral
Timing and details

Loading…

Weight loss, compounded or research vial, Wegovy-style ladder (guide protocol)

Amount
0.25 to 2.4 mg
How often
Once weekly; 4 weeks per step, then hold at 2.4 mg
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Titration (5 steps) and details

Loading…

Weight loss, 10 mg research vial start and maintenance (guide protocol)

Amount
300 to 1,000 mcg
How often
Once weekly; start at 300 mcg, maintenance at 1,000 mcg
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Timing and details

Loading…

Weight loss, common community compounded range

Amount
0.25 to 2.5 mg
How often
Once weekly, ongoing
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Timing and details

Loading…

Other protocols: injected3

Weight loss with cagrilintide, REDEFINE 1 trial dose (CagriSema)

Amount
0.25 to 2.4 mg
How often
Once weekly, starting at 0.25 mg and stepping up every 4 weeks to 2.4 mg
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Cycle
68 weeks in REDEFINE 1
Timing and details

Loading…

Maintenance after goal weight, sub-max dose (community)

Amount
0.5 to 1.7 mg
How often
Once weekly at a dose below the top step
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Timing and details

Loading…

Microdosing, split low dose (community)

Amount
0.125 to 0.25 mg
How often
Twice weekly
Route
Subcutaneous injection
Timing and details

Loading…

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Full Semaglutide dosage guideEvery titration step in syringe units, missed doses and how to mix.

Vial strengths and syringe units

Every Semaglutide vial size with the water volumes sources use. Units are what to draw on a U-100 insulin syringe, worked out exactly.
Semaglutide: concentration and U-100 syringe units for each vial size and water volume
WaterStrength0.25 mgdose, units2 mgdose, units2.4 mgdose, units
5 mg vial
2 mLCompetitor guide2.5 mg/mL100.1 mL800.8 mL960.96 mL
10 mg vial
1.5 mLCompetitor guide6.667 mg/mL3.80.038 mL300.3 mL360.36 mL
2 mLCompetitor guide5 mg/mL50.05 mL400.4 mL480.48 mL
3 mLCompetitor guide3.333 mg/mL7.50.075 mL600.6 mL720.72 mL
4 mLCompetitor guide2.5 mg/mL100.1 mL800.8 mL960.96 mL
All 4 vial sizes on the dosage chart (2 more)
Units are on a U-100 insulin syringe (100 units = 1 mL). U-50 and U-30 barrels read the same units.† Water volume sourced for a different vial size. The math is exact either way.Water volumes from

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Calculate with this peptideYour vial, your water, your dose: Semaglutide in syringe units, with the math shown.

What people report

What Semaglutide users write on Reddit, counted post by post. These are reports, not measured rates or advice.

Community-reportedFrom 900 Reddit posts and comments, last mined Oct 24, 2026r/Semaglutide, r/tirzepatidecompound, r/Retatrutide, r/Peptides

Doses people report for Semaglutide

Weight loss432 mentions

Amounts reported for weight loss, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
1 mg127
0.25 mg93
0.5 mg80
1.5 mg38
2.4 mg33

Goal not stated66 mentions

Amounts reported for goal not stated, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
1 mg18
0.25 mg17
0.5 mg5
2 mg4
2.4 mg4

Metabolic health6 mentions

Amounts reported for metabolic health, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
0.25 mg4
0.5 mg2

Left out: 10 mentions given in syringe units, which mean different doses in different mixes.

How often

Dosing frequencies reported, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
Once a week93
Once a day17
Every other day3
Twice a week2
Every two weeks2

Most mentioned alongside

Side effects people mention

  • Nausea101 mentions

    Most common fixes: none (5), switch to tirzepatide (3)

  • Fatigue38 mentions

    Most common fixes: none (3), wait for it to pass (2)

  • Vomiting33 mentions

    Most common fixes: take ondansetron (3), none (2)

  • Diarrhea24 mentions

    Most common fix: none (2)

  • Constipation21 mentions

    Most common fixes: take polyethylene glycol (3), use constipation remedies (2)

  • Acid reflux17 mentions

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Semaglutide side effects

What trials and labels report, kept apart from what users and guides report. Frequencies are worded as each source states them.

Reported in studies and labels6

From clinical trials and regulatory documents.

  • Abdominal pain

    20% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 10% on placebo (Wegovy label)

  • Headache

    14% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 10% on placebo (Wegovy label)

  • Fatigue

    11% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 5% on placebo (Wegovy label)

  • Dizziness

    8% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 4% on placebo (Wegovy label)

  • Hair loss

    3.3% on Wegovy 2.4 mg (4% of women, 0.9% of men) vs 1% on placebo; 5.8% on 7.2 mg (Wegovy label)

  • Dysesthesia (odd skin sensations)

    22% on Wegovy 7.2 mg vs 6% on 2.4 mg (Wegovy label)

Reported by users and guides6

From community reports and dosing guides. Not measured rates.

  • Nausea

    44% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 16% on placebo (Wegovy label); 20.3% on Ozempic 1 mg (Ozempic label). Most common during dose increases.

    How people manage it

    • Eat smaller meals and cut back on greasy food.
  • Nausea on step-ups (community)

    Commonly reported in community posts, mostly in the days after a dose increase

    How people manage it

    • Slower steps of 6 to 8 weeks are the usual fix.
  • Diarrhea

    30% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 16% on placebo (Wegovy label); 8.8% on Ozempic 1 mg (Ozempic label)

    How people manage it

    • Drink more fluids.
  • Vomiting

    24% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 6% on placebo (Wegovy label); 9.2% on Ozempic 1 mg (Ozempic label)

    How people manage it

    • Stay on the current dose longer before stepping up.
  • Constipation

    24% on Wegovy 2.4 mg vs 11% on placebo (Wegovy label); 3.1% on Ozempic 1 mg (Ozempic label). Also commonly reported in community posts.

    How people manage it

    • Drink more water and add soluble fiber slowly.
  • Strong appetite loss

    Commonly reported in community posts

All 16 Semaglutide side effects and how people manage themEvery management tip, who should not use it, and side-effect questions.

Storage

Powder (before mixing)

Temperature
2 to 8 °C

Keep research powder in the fridge at 2 to 8°C. Guides quote a shelf life of 18 to 24 months. Unused branded Ozempic and Wegovy pens also go in the fridge.

Mixed vial

Use within
28 days

Keep the mixed vial in the fridge and use it within about 28 days; one guide says 30. Never freeze or shake it, and throw it out if it turns cloudy or changes color. The 56-day figure some guides quote is for an opened Ozempic pen, not a mixed vial.

Mixed with: Bacteriostatic water

Mixing. For a 5 mg vial, 2 mL is the most common answer. For 10 mg, guides split between 2 and 3 mL. Compounded pharmacy semaglutide usually arrives as a ready liquid from 2.5 to 12.5 mg per mL, with 5 mg per mL the most common; a pink tint usually means added B12. Every concentration changes what a syringe unit holds, so read units only against your own vial.

Stacks people report

Combinations from guides and community posts, with the reason given.
  • Cagrilintide

    The pair is Novo Nordisk's CagriSema. In REDEFINE 1, 2.4 mg of each averaged 20.4% weight loss at 68 weeks vs 14.9% for semaglutide alone. CagriSema is not approved, and DIY versions rely on research cagrilintide, which is scarce and hard to verify.

  • BPC-157

    Some people add oral BPC-157 hoping for a calmer gut. Niche and anecdotal, with no study behind the pairing.

Compare Semaglutide

Evidence and legal status

Evidence: strong human trials

STEP 1 (1,961 adults, 68 weeks): 14.9% average weight loss vs 2.4% on placebo. SELECT (17,604 adults): 20% fewer major heart events, 6.5% vs 8.0% (HR 0.80). STEP UP and OASIS 4 back the 7.2 mg and oral doses. All of this is branded product. Compounded and research vials have no trial data or verified identity.

FDA and WADA

FDA approved as Ozempic +2

An FDA-approved drug for this use.

FDA approved as Ozempic (type 2 diabetes, heart and kidney risk), Wegovy (weight, heart risk and MASH; weekly injection, daily tablet approved December 2025, and Wegovy HD 7.2 mg approved 2026-03-19), and Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets (type 2 diabetes). Compounded and research-labeled semaglutide are not FDA approved.

FDA declared the shortage resolved on 2025-02-21. Grace periods for compounded copies ended 2025-04-22 for 503A pharmacies and 2025-05-22 for 503B outsourcers. On 2026-04-30 FDA proposed excluding semaglutide from the 503B bulks list; no final decision found. FDA sent 30 warning letters to telehealth firms over compounded GLP-1 marketing on 2026-03-03, with more in June 2026. WADA: not prohibited, on the Monitoring Program since 2024, and still permitted on the 2027 list.

WADA: Not prohibited

Semaglutide questions

How much bacteriostatic water do I mix with a 5 mg vial of semaglutide?

2 mL is the most common answer in dosing guides. Whatever you pick, enter your exact vial size and water volume in a calculator before converting doses to syringe units.

How much bacteriostatic water for a 10 mg vial?

Guides disagree. 2, 3 and 4 mL all appear, with 2 and 3 mL the most common and one guide calling 3 mL the most recommended. Another guide uses 1.5 mL. More water means a weaker mix and more syringe units per dose.

What is the Wegovy dosing schedule?

0.25 mg weekly for 4 weeks, then 0.5, 1 and 1.7 mg for 4 weeks each, then 2.4 mg weekly as the maintenance dose. 1.7 mg is allowed if 2.4 mg is not tolerated. After at least 4 weeks on 2.4 mg, the label allows Wegovy HD at 7.2 mg.

What is the maximum Ozempic dose?

2 mg once a week. The label starts at 0.25 mg and moves up in steps of at least 4 weeks through 0.5 and 1 mg; 0.5, 1 and 2 mg are all maintenance doses.

Does the 7.2 mg Wegovy dose work better than 2.4 mg?

In STEP UP (72 weeks), 7.2 mg averaged 18.8% weight loss vs 15.5% on 2.4 mg and 3.9% on placebo. It also came with more odd skin sensations (22% vs 6%) and a bit more hair loss (5.8%).

How long does semaglutide stay in your system?

Its half-life is about a week, so it takes roughly 5 to 7 weeks after the last dose to clear.

Is there a semaglutide pill?

Yes. Wegovy tablets go up to 25 mg daily for weight; in OASIS 4, 25 mg averaged 13.6% weight loss at 64 weeks vs 2.4% on placebo. Rybelsus (3, 7, 14 mg) and Ozempic tablets (1.5, 4, 9 mg) are for type 2 diabetes. All are taken on an empty stomach with a little water, 30 minutes before food. Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets are not swappable mg for mg.

Is compounded semaglutide still allowed?

FDA declared the shortage over on 2025-02-21. The grace periods for compounded copies ended on 2025-04-22 for 503A pharmacies and 2025-05-22 for 503B outsourcers. Enforcement kept going in 2026: 30 warning letters to telehealth firms in March, more in June, and a proposal to drop semaglutide from the 503B bulks list.

Semaglutide or tirzepatide: which works better for weight loss?

Tirzepatide won the only head-to-head trial. In SURMOUNT-5, it averaged 20.2% weight loss at 72 weeks vs 13.7% for semaglutide, a 6.5 point gap.

Can I switch straight from semaglutide to tirzepatide?

There is no validated dose conversion. Clinical guidance is to restart tirzepatide at a low dose and titrate up.

Can I take semaglutide with tirzepatide or retatrutide?

Dosing guides say no. Switch from one to the other; do not stack two of these drugs.

Will I regain weight after stopping semaglutide?

Most people regain a large share. In the STEP 1 extension, about two-thirds of the weight lost came back within a year of stopping. Label use is long term with no off cycle, which is why people look at maintenance doses.

Does semaglutide cause hair loss?

Sometimes. On the Wegovy label, 3.3% of people on 2.4 mg reported hair loss vs 1% on placebo, more in women (4%) than men (0.9%). At 7.2 mg it was 5.8%.

Does semaglutide microdosing work?

No trial has tested it. Microdosing usually means less than 0.25 mg a week, and community posts describe 0.125 to 0.25 mg twice a week. In one survey of 8,486 injectable GLP-1 users, 15% said they microdose, mainly to limit side effects (40.8%), save money (31.9%) or maintain weight (29.6%).

How long does mixed semaglutide last?

About 28 days in the fridge, per dosing guides; one says 30. Do not freeze or shake it, and discard it if it turns cloudy or changes color.

How do I store Ozempic or Wegovy pens?

Unused pens go in the fridge at 2 to 8°C. Once in use, an Ozempic pen lasts 56 days at 15 to 30°C or in the fridge. A Wegovy pen is single use and can sit at 8 to 30°C for up to 28 days before the cap comes off.

Why do semaglutide units charts disagree?

Each chart is built for one concentration, and compounded and mixed vials range widely. The same number of units holds a very different dose from one vial to the next. FDA reports describe people drawing 5 to 20 times their intended dose this way. Work from your own vial's mg per mL every time.

Ask about Semaglutide

Answers come from this site's pages only, with a link to each source.

Sources

32 sources, each checked by date. Record updated Oct 23, 2026. Numbers are restated in our own words and labelled by where they came from.

Clinical study7

  1. REDEFINE 1 and REDEFINE 2 journal scanAmerican College of Cardiology · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Cagrilintide and semaglutide trial protocol (NCT04982575)ClinicalTrials.gov · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. SURMOUNT-5 journal scanAmerican College of Cardiology · checked Oct 23, 2026

Regulatory14

  1. Ozempic Prescribing Information (rev. 01/2025)FDA · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Wegovy injection and tablets label (SPL v19, Jun 30 2026)DailyMed · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets label (SPL v14, Aug 19 2026)DailyMed · checked Oct 23, 2026

Vendor guide5

  1. Research-labeled semaglutide listing (5 mg)Aura Peptide Co · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Research-labeled semaglutide listing (10, 20, 30 mg)Orbitrex Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. GLP-1 Microdosing: Safety, Evidence, and MaintenancePerx Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026

Competitor guide5

  1. Semaglutide 5 mg vial dosage protocolpeptidedosages.com · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. How much bacteriostatic water to mix with 10mg semaglutideSeekPeptides · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. Semaglutide 10 mg vial dosing protocolMyPeptideMatch · checked Oct 23, 2026

Community-reported1

  1. Semaglutide: Community Protocols & ReportsPeptide Protocol Wiki · checked Oct 23, 2026