Skip to content
Limited human dataNot FDA approved

Semax

Also known as: MEHFPGP · Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro · ACTH(4-10) analog · ACTH(4-7)PGP · (Pro8,Gly9,Pro10)ACTH-(4-10) · Semax acetate

Updated 73 sources

A seven amino acid peptide (Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro) made from a short piece of ACTH, with a Pro-Gly-Pro tail added for stability. Its label says it has none of ACTH's hormone activity. Russia registers it as 0.1% and 1% nasal drops for stroke recovery and brain function. People run it for focus and drive, by nose or injection. Human data are small Russian studies, mostly in stroke. Not approved in the US.

Quick facts

Half-life
  • No human data; FDA found no human pharmacokinetic studies. In rats, brain levels peak 2 minutes after a nasal dose and the peptide breaks down fast.
Routes
  • Nasal
  • Subcutaneous injection
Forms
  • Nasal spray
  • Vial (powder)
Reported dose ranges
  • 150 to 6,000 mcg (nasal)
  • 12 to 18 mg (nasal)
  • 15 to 50 mcg/kg (nasal)
  • 100 to 1,500 mcg (subcutaneous injection)
Vial sizes
  • 5 mg, 10 mg, 20 mg, 30 mg
FDA status
  • Not FDA approved
WADA
  • Not confirmed

What people use Semax for

  • Focus and getting work done, the most common reason; many find the effect subtle or absent
  • Motivation and drive, including gym focus; some with ADHD use it on stimulant-free days
  • Stroke recovery and nerve protection, the only uses on the Russian label
  • Mood and social anxiety, with mixed reports; antidepressant effects are shown in animals only
  • Brain fog, often alongside GLP-1s, NAD+ or MOTS-c

How it is thought to work. In rodents Semax raises BDNF and its receptor TrkB and shifts dopamine and serotonin activity. In lab tests it slows the enzymes that break down enkephalins. After a nasal dose in rats it reaches the brain within minutes and is quickly broken down, mostly to Pro-Gly-Pro. The label says at least 60 to 70% is absorbed through the nose. How it acts in people is not established.

Semax dosing

30 protocols from studies, guides and community reports, grouped by goal. Tap a source badge to see where a number came from.

Standard nasal2

Standard nasal (guide)

Amount
300 to 600 mcg
How often
Once daily, before noon
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 to 20 days on
Rest
2 weeks off
Timing and details

Loading…

Standard nasal (daily total, guide)

Amount
200 to 600 mcg
How often
Daily total, in 1 or 2 doses
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 to 30 days
Rest
2 to 4 weeks off
Timing and details

Loading…

Nasal start2

Nasal start (daily total, guide)

Amount
600 mcg
How often
Daily total, split into 2 or 3 doses
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
Up to 60 days at 600 mcg a day; up to 30 days above 900 mcg a day

Nasal start (guide)

Amount
150 mcg
How often
Twice daily, morning and noon
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
3 to 6 weeks on, then the same off
Timing and details

Loading…

Subcutaneous2

Subcutaneous (guide)

Amount
100 to 500 mcg
How often
1 to 2 times a day
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
10 to 14 days
Rest
1 to 2 weeks washout

Subcutaneous (daily total, guide)

Amount
100 to 300 mcg
How often
Daily total
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
3 to 6 weeks on, then the same off
Timing and details

Loading…

Other protocols: nasal, nasal spray18

Mental fatigue and adaptation, Russian label (0.1%)

Amount
200 to 300 mcg
How often
2 to 3 times in the first half of the day (400 to 900 mcg a day)
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
3 to 5 days, repeated if needed
Timing and details

Loading…

Memory and attention with vascular brain disease, Russian label (0.1%)

Amount
200 to 2,000 mcg
How often
4 times a day (800 to 8,000 mcg a day)
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 to 14 days
Timing and details

Loading…

After brain injury, neurosurgery or anesthesia, Russian label (0.1%)

Amount
1,400 to 3,500 mcg
How often
3 times a day
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
3 to 5 days, up to 14 days
Timing and details

Loading…

Optic nerve disease, Russian label (0.1%, daily total)

Amount
600 to 900 mcg
How often
Daily total, given 2 to 3 times a day
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
7 to 10 days
Timing and details

Loading…

Children 7 and older, Russian label (0.1%, daily total)

Amount
200 to 400 mcg
How often
Daily total, given as 1 to 2 drops per nostril twice a day, morning and afternoon
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
30 days
Timing and details

Loading…

Moderate ischemic stroke, Russian label (1%)

Amount
2,000 to 3,000 mcg
How often
3 to 4 times a day, 3 to 4 hours apart (6,000 to 12,000 mcg a day)
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 days
Timing and details

Loading…

Severe ischemic stroke, Russian label (1%)

Amount
3,000 to 4,000 mcg
How often
4 to 5 times a day (12,000 to 20,000 mcg a day)
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 days
Timing and details

Loading…

Acute ischemic stroke trial (daily total)

Amount
12 to 18 mg
How often
Daily total
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
5 or 10 day courses
Timing and details

Loading…

Post-stroke trial (daily total)

Amount
6,000 mcg
How often
Daily total
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 days, two courses
Rest
20 days between the two courses
Timing and details

Loading…

Weight-based dose (developer review)

Amount
15 to 50 mcg/kg
How often
Once daily; effects reported to last 20 to 24 hours
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Timing and details

Loading…

Nootropic, once daily (guide)

Amount
200 to 600 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
2 to 4 weeks
Timing and details

Loading…

Nootropic nasal (daily total, guide)

Amount
600 to 1,500 mcg
How often
Daily total, split into 2 doses
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 to 14 days for a short course, or 4 to 6 weeks on
Rest
2 to 4 weeks off after a longer run
Timing and details

Loading…

High-performance nasal (guide)

Amount
600 to 900 mcg
How often
Daily, before noon
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 to 20 days on
Rest
2 weeks off
Timing and details

Loading…

Nasal, 0.1% solution (daily total, guide)

Amount
200 to 600 mcg
How often
Daily total, split into 2 or 3 doses
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 to 14 days
Rest
1 to 2 weeks washout

General nootropic (guide)

Amount
200 to 600 mcg
How often
1 to 2 times a day, 3 to 4 hours apart
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
10 to 14 days on
Rest
An equal period off
Timing and details

Loading…

Cognitive impairment (guide)

Amount
600 to 900 mcg
How often
2 to 3 times a day
Route
Nasal, nasal spray

Stroke recovery (guide)

Amount
1,200 to 1,800 mcg
How often
3 times a day
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Cycle
5 to 14 days in the acute phase

Daily nasal (community)

Amount
200 to 600 mcg
How often
Once daily, usually in the morning
Route
Nasal, nasal spray
Timing and details

Loading…

Other protocols: injected6

Subcutaneous planning dose (guide)

Amount
500 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Timing and details

Loading…

Neuroprotection, subcutaneous (guide)

Amount
100 to 200 mcg
How often
Daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)

Injectable (guide)

Amount
500 to 1,000 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 to 8 weeks

Daily subcutaneous (community)

Amount
500 to 1,000 mcg
How often
Once daily, in the morning
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 weeks on
Rest
4 weeks off
Timing and details

Loading…

Weekday subcutaneous (community)

Amount
1 mg
How often
Once each morning, 5 days on and 2 off
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
1 month

High-dose subcutaneous block (community)

Amount
1,500 mcg
How often
Once daily
Route
SubQ, vial (powder)
Cycle
4 weeks, repeated every 10 weeks

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Full Semax dosage guideEvery titration step in syringe units, missed doses and how to mix.

Vial strengths and syringe units

Every Semax vial size with the water volumes sources use. Units are what to draw on a U-100 insulin syringe, worked out exactly.
Semax: concentration and U-100 syringe units for each vial size and water volume
WaterStrength100 mcgdose, units500 mcgdose, units1,000 mcgdose, units
5 mg vial
2 mLCommunity-reported2.5 mg/mL40.04 mL200.2 mL400.4 mL
2.5 mLCompetitor guide2 mg/mL50.05 mL250.25 mL500.5 mL
10 mg vial
3 mLCommunity-reported3.333 mg/mL30.03 mL150.15 mL300.3 mL
20 mg vial
2 mLCompetitor guide10 mg/mL10.01 mL50.05 mL100.1 mL
4 mLCompetitor guide5 mg/mL20.02 mL100.1 mL200.2 mL
5 mLCompetitor guide4 mg/mL2.50.025 mL12.50.125 mL250.25 mL
All 4 vial sizes on the dosage chart (1 more)
Units are on a U-100 insulin syringe (100 units = 1 mL). U-50 and U-30 barrels read the same units.† Water volume sourced for a different vial size. The math is exact either way.Water volumes from

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Calculate with this peptideYour vial, your water, your dose: Semax in syringe units, with the math shown.

What people report

What Semax users write on Reddit, counted post by post. These are reports, not measured rates or advice.

Community-reportedFrom 900 Reddit posts and comments, last mined Oct 23, 2026r/Biohackers, r/Peptides, r/Nootropics, r/Peptidesource

Doses people report for Semax

Focus and mood78 mentions

Amounts reported for focus and mood, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
500 mcg16
200 mcg8
300 mcg7
100 mcg6
1 mg5

Goal not stated76 mentions

Amounts reported for goal not stated, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
10 mg10
1 mg8
200 mcg8
500 mcg8
5 mg6

Left out: 2 mentions far outside every sourced protocol, most likely vial sizes or typos.

How often

Dosing frequencies reported, with mention counts
ReportedMentions
Once a day45
As needed11
5 days on, 2 off6
Twice a day6
Twice a week3

Most mentioned alongside

Side effects people mention

  • Headache9 mentions

    Most common fix: lower the dose (2)

  • Fatigue7 mentions

  • Insomnia6 mentions

  • Overstimulated4 mentions

  • Irritability3 mentions

  • Brain fog3 mentions

Doses shown are what sources report, labelled by origin. Not medical advice.

Semax side effects

What trials and labels report, kept apart from what users and guides report. Frequencies are worded as each source states them.

Reported in studies and labels5

From clinical trials and regulatory documents.

  • Mild nasal irritation

    Listed on the Russian label with prolonged use; no rate given

  • Nasal cavity discoloration

    About 10% of patients, per a research summary citing a 2013 study

  • Raised blood glucose in people with diabetes

    7.4% figure in a research summary citing a 2013 study

  • Eye pain and burning

    One FDA adverse event report, with hospitalization, after 0.1% drops bought online; no case reports in the literature

  • Possible bleeding risk

    Theoretical. FDA reviewers flag a possible anti-clotting effect; no cases reported

Reported by users and guides6

From community reports and dosing guides. Not measured rates.

  • Anxiety, overstimulation or racing heart

    Commonly reported on r/Peptides; one user describes about an hour of overstimulation unless Semax is taken with Selank

    How people manage it

    • Pair it with Selank, the most common fix users describe
  • Irritability

    Several r/Peptides users report sharper focus together with irritability

  • Headache

    Occasional r/Peptides reports, including a low but persistent headache

    How people manage it

    • One user tolerated Selank better than Semax for headaches
  • Hair shedding

    Anecdotal claims and questions on r/Peptides. One guide calls it anecdotal, another rare in predisposed people. Neither the label nor any study reports it.

  • Next-day fatigue or low HRV

    A few r/Peptides reports, including feeling more tired at the end of the day

  • Fading effect

    One r/Peptides user says the effect drops sharply after the first or second vial

    How people manage it

    • Cycle off
All 11 Semax side effects and how people manage themEvery management tip, who should not use it, and side-effect questions.

Who should avoid it

  • Anxiety disordersCondition

    Listed as a contraindication on the Russian label.

  • Acute psychosisCondition

    Listed as a contraindication on the Russian label.

  • History of seizuresCondition

    Listed as a contraindication on the Russian label.

  • PregnancyCondition

    Listed as a contraindication on the Russian label.

  • Children under 7Condition

    The Russian label does not allow use under age 7.

  • Stimulants and racetamsSubstance

    One guide advises caution when combining them with Semax.

Storage

Powder (before mixing)

Temperature
-20 to 8 °C

Freezer at -20 C for long-term storage, fridge at 2 to 8 C short term. One guide gives 18 to 24 months in the fridge; another says room temperature is acceptable.

Mixed vial

Temperature
2 to 8 °C
Use within
21 days

Fridge at 2 to 8 C. Guides give 21 days, 21 to 30 days or 28 days. 21 days fits every guide.

As supplied

Russian drops: keep in the dark at 10 C or below and do not freeze. Shelf life is 2 years unopened.

Mixed with: Bacteriostatic water for injection; sterile saline to dilute nasal sprays

Mixing. For 20 mg vials, 4 mL is the default in one guide. For sprays, one guide dissolves 10 mg in 3 mL and tops up with sterile saline to 5 mL (200 mcg per 0.1 mL) or 10 mL (100 mcg per 0.1 mL).

Stacks people report

Combinations from guides and community posts, with the reason given.
  • Selank

    The most common pairing: Semax in the morning for drive, Selank later or as needed for calm. Users say Selank blunts Semax overstimulation. Doses seen: Semax 300 to 600 mcg with Selank 250 to 500 mcg nasal. Many say try each alone first and skip premixed blends so each dose can move on its own.

  • Epitalon

    Some users run both for the first ten days of every month. One guide pairs 600 mcg a day of Semax with 5 to 10 mg of Epitalon.

  • NAD+

    Named as a partner by a guide and by r/Peptides users, often for brain fog. No dose or rationale given.

  • MOTS-c

    Mentioned alongside Semax for brain fog on r/Peptides. No dose or rationale given.

  • DSIP

    Named as a stack partner by a guide and r/Peptides users. No dose or rationale given.

  • Oxytocin

    Named as a stack partner by a guide and r/Peptides users. No dose or rationale given.

  • BPC-157

    Named as a stack partner by a guide and r/Peptides users. No dose or rationale given.

Related versions

  • N-Acetyl Semax Amidate

    Semax with an acetyl group on the front of the chain, sold as NA-Semax or NA-Semax amidate. Claimed 2 to 3 times stronger per mcg with no human data; in one lab study acetylation removed Semax's cell-protection effect.

  • Adamax

    A further-modified Semax relative sold online. It has no published studies and no measured half-life.

Compare Semax

Evidence and legal status

Evidence: limited human data

In Russian clinical use since the 1990s. Human data are mostly Russian-language stroke studies (30 treated vs 80 controls; 110 patients) and two small healthy-volunteer brain imaging studies. Animal data on BDNF and on dopamine and serotonin are strong. A research summary says well-conducted published trials are lacking, FDA found no human pharmacokinetic studies, and one guide counts no ClinicalTrials.gov entries.

FDA and WADA

Not FDA approved

An approval withdrawn, or removed from FDA's compounding lists.

Not FDA approved. FDA removed it from 503A Category 2 on April 22, 2026 after the nominations were withdrawn and flags immunogenicity risk. At the July 2026 advisory committee, FDA staff said the balance weighs against listing it, but the committee voted to recommend it (reported 8 to 5). The vote is non-binding.

Russia: a registered prescription drug as 0.1% and 1% nasal drops, on the vital and essential drugs list since 7 Dec 2011. One guide dates a Category 2 listing to 29 Sep 2023 and removal to 23 Apr 2026 (docket FDA-2026-N-2979); we have not verified those dates on fda.gov. One guide says WADA does not name it; we could not check the list itself.

WADA: Not confirmed

Semax questions

How much Semax per day?

The Russian label uses 400 to 900 mcg a day for mental fatigue, split into 2 to 3 doses before midday. Its stroke doses run 6,000 to 20,000 mcg a day. On r/Peptides, 200 to 600 mcg a day is typical, and most guides cluster at 200 to 600 mcg for focus.

Nasal spray or injection?

The Russian product is nasal only, and the FDA found no human safety data for injecting it. Users split: some say subQ works where nasal did nothing, others prefer nasal because they feel it in about 30 seconds versus 3 to 5 minutes for subQ.

How many mcg per drop or spray?

Per the label, one drop of 0.1% is 50 mcg and one drop of 1% is 500 mcg. One guide says about 30 mcg per 0.1% drop. Premixed research sprays at 30 mg per 10 mL give about 300 mcg per pump. Pumps deliver about 0.1 to 0.13 mL per press by user reports, and 0.025 to 0.20 mL across devices, so count presses on a known volume to calibrate.

How do I make a nasal spray from a 10 mg vial?

One guide dissolves 10 mg in 3 mL, then tops up with sterile saline to 5 mL for 200 mcg per 0.1 mL spray, or to 10 mL for 100 mcg per spray. One user mixes to 250 mcg per spray. Calibrate your pump before trusting the math.

What is the half-life of Semax?

Nobody has measured it in people; the FDA found no human pharmacokinetic studies. In rats, brain levels peak 2 minutes after a nasal dose and the peptide is quickly broken down, mostly to Pro-Gly-Pro. Guide figures disagree wildly and cite nothing: about 7 minutes, 2 to 3 minutes, minutes, or several hours.

How long does Semax last?

The developers report effects lasting 20 to 24 hours in animals and people. The peptide itself is cleared fast: guides say about 2 to 7 minutes, and in rats it is broken down soon after reaching the brain. No human pharmacokinetic study exists.

When should I take it?

In the morning or the first half of the day, per the label. Guides say take any second dose before 2 to 3 PM and avoid dosing near bedtime.

How long until I feel it?

Some users feel it the same day in about 20 minutes. Others say it took 4 to 7 days. Plenty report a subtle effect or none at all.

How long should a cycle be?

Label courses run 3 to 14 days and can be repeated. Users run 4 weeks on and 4 off, a month on and a month off, or the first ten days of every month. Guides range from 10 to 14 days up to 4 to 6 weeks, with breaks about as long.

Does Semax cause hair loss?

Only in anecdotes. Neither the Russian label nor any study reports it, and guides disagree on whether to list it at all.

Can Semax cause anxiety?

Some users report anxiety, agitation and a raised heart rate. The label lists anxiety disorders as a reason not to use it. Many users pair it with Selank to take the edge off.

Should I take Semax with Selank?

It is the most common stack. Users usually take Semax in the morning and Selank later or as needed. Many advise trying each alone first and taking them separately so each dose can be tuned.

Does tolerance build up?

One r/Peptides user says the effect drops sharply after the first or second vial. Cycling off is the usual answer.

Is Semax FDA approved?

No. It was nominated for compounding and then withdrawn, and FDA flags immunogenicity risk. FDA staff told the July 2026 advisory committee the balance weighs against adding it to the compounding list, but the committee voted to recommend it, reportedly 8 to 5. That vote is non-binding. In Russia it is a registered drug and on the essential drugs list since 2011.

How do I store Semax?

Russian drops: cold, dark, never frozen. Powder: freezer long term, fridge short term. Mixed for injection: fridge, about 3 to 4 weeks, and users say 4 weeks at most. An opened Russian bottle: 30 days, per one guide. Homemade sprays: guides say 14 days to 4 weeks in the fridge. The FDA notes spray containers and pumps are untested for stability.

Is N-acetyl Semax amidate better?

Guides claim it is 2 to 3 times stronger per mcg and users say it hits harder. There is no human data. One lab study found acetylation removed Semax's cell-protection effect.

Ask about Semax

Answers come from this site's pages only, with a link to each source.

Sources

73 sources, each checked by date. Record updated Oct 24, 2026. Numbers are restated in our own words and labelled by where they came from.

Clinical study11

  1. Semax in acute ischemic stroke (Gusev 1997)PubMed · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Semax at different stages of ischemic stroke (Gusev 2018)PubMed · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. 15 years of Semax (Ashmarin 1997)PubMed · checked Oct 23, 2026

Reference work3

  1. SemaxWikipedia · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. SelankWikipedia · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. CerebrolysinWikipedia · checked Oct 23, 2026

Competitor guide11

  1. Semax quick startpeptidedosingprotocols.com · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. Semaxpathtopeptides.com · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. Semax dosingpeptideprotocolwiki.com · checked Oct 23, 2026

Community-reported40

  1. Semax/selank blendr/Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026
  2. r/Peptides comment on Semaxr/Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026
  3. r/Peptides comment on Semaxr/Peptides · checked Oct 23, 2026